Security in a courtroom is of utmost importance for the judicial system. To that end, the Department of Criminal Justice Training offers a two-week Court Security Officer Basic Training Academy, which is held several times a year. Course work includes Kentucky law, general law enforcement training, firearms training, defensive tactics training, which includes handcuffing procedures and other basic defensive tactic skills for self-defense. Also taught are general courtroom security, including how to handle bomb threats and other courtroom issues.
PREREQUISITES OF BEING A COURT SECURITY OFFICER:
Be a citizen of the United States
Must be hired by a sheriff’s office
At least 21 years old
High school diploma or GED
Have a valid operator’s license
Fingerprint cards completed and mailed to the Kentucky State Police
No prohibition on firearms possession
Trainees must be able to perform firearms training from a kneeling position and be able to return to their feet without any assistance
Trainees must demonstrate proper firearms safety habits
Must not have received a dishonorable or general discharge under other than honorable conditions from the Armed Forces
Pass a drug screen
Pass a criminal background check
Pass a polygraph
Pass end-of-course exams in firearms, defensive tactics and a written test
TRAITS OF A COURT SECURITY OFFICER:
Good communication skills
Ability to multitask
Dedication to teamwork
High morals, character and integrity
Kentucky Law-Enforcement Council-certified court security officers are required to complete 40 hours of mandated training every two years. DOCJT offers 10-12 in-service classes per year. Check the Acadis system for available courses.
All weapons will be checked into the DOCJT armory on Sunday evening and will be checked out for training and on Fridays as participants are leaving the campus. No firearms or ammunition will be stored in any other location while on campus. Weapons are not permitted in the dorms.
DOCJT will provide ammunition for 38 caliber, 9 mm, 40 caliber and 45 caliber handguns. If trainees bring a weapon of another caliber, the trainee must provide his or her ammunition (500 round of lead-free, frangible, non-toxic ammunition).
Trainees must bring their ballistic vest.
Subcompact weapons will not be accepted.
All holsters must be a duty type that is attached to a duty belt. No concealed carry or paddle back holsters are allowed. Holsters must have at least a level II retention that does not use the trigger finger to release the weapon. A minimum of three magazines are required.