Twenty-two Officers Graduate from Sergeant’s Course


Law enforcement officers from agencies across the commonwealth were recognized today for completing the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training’s Academy of Police Supervision.

APS, also called the sergeant’s academy, is a three-week, 122-hour training program targeted for newly promoted sergeants or officers who are on their agency’s promotion list to become sergeants.

While in APS, students participate in classes focusing on the role of a supervisor, leadership, resolving conflict, managing diversity, monitoring officer performance, professional image, legal issues for supervisors, ethics, interpersonal communication, effective written communication, making decisions, solving problems, managing critical incidents, public speaking, emotional survival, media relations and others.

The graduating class is the 82nd to complete APS since the program began in 2003. University of Kentucky Police Chief Joe Monroe served as guest speaker.

APS is one of DOCJT’s illustrious leadership courses aimed at developing and shaping future and current leaders in law enforcement agencies across the commonwealth.

The Department of Criminal Justice Training is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University’s campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies’ public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accreditation through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013.

APS Class 82 graduates and their agencies are:

Sgt. Daniel Baldino
Oak Grove Police Department

Sgt. Justin Bickett
Louisville Metro Police Department

Sgt. Brent Bridgman
Shelbyville Police Department

Capt. Eric Brown
Louisville Regional Airport Police Department

Sgt. Tim Conner
Versailles Police Department

Sgt. Cory Curtner
Marshall County Sheriff’s Office

Sgt. Kevin Estes
Versailles Police Department

Sgt. Steven Fields
Glasgow Police Department

Major Joseph Gilliland
Nelson County Sheriff’s Office

Sgt. Jeffrey Goulet
Christian County Sheriff’s Office

Sgt. Kevin Grimes
Nicholasville Police Department

Sgt. Nicholas Houchens
Glasgow Police Department

Sgt. Ron Hutchinson
Falmouth Police Department

Sgt. Jeremy Lewis
Louisville Regional Airport Police Department

Sgt. Travis Nichols
Louisville Metro Police Department

Sgt. Tyler Nolan
Fulton Police Department

Sgt. David Osborne
Dry Ridge Police Department

Sgt. Justin Roby
London Police Department

Sgt. Demiche Sewell
Louisville Metro Police Department

Sgt. Evan Timmons
Murray Police Department

Sgt. Kevin Vaske
Boone County Sheriff’s Office

Sgt. Cary York
Pulaski County Sheriff’s Office